Review~Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller

Thank you to Netgalley for letting me request this e book. 🙂

Goodreads Synopsis

Perfect for fantasy fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo, the first book in this new duology features a compelling gender fluid main character, impressive world building, and fast-paced action.

Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class―and the nobles who destroyed their home.

When Sal steals a flyer for an audition to become a member of The Left Hand―the Queen’s personal assassins, named after the rings she wears―Sal jumps at the chance to infiltrate the court and get revenge.

I will be honest, this book took me awhile to finish because I just find it so boring. Seriously, I felt like the book was telling me everything in one go but at the same time not telling me anything. The world building is very vague by not giving me much detail on the environment and atmosphere which caused me to lose focus half the time. The characters has no personalities or any kind of unique qualities that makes any of them stand out, and having them named after either numbers or jewels with lack of descriptions on their appearance doesn’t help at all.

The story itself is very confusing and choppy and there were some places I find to be quite dull. For example, having the main protagonist Sal learning to read and write on basic alphabet which I find unnecessary in a book about an assassin fight for a position to work for the Queen, and the romance between him and a girl called Elise is not only pointless, it is also kind of cringy to the point where it is hard to read their flirtatious comments at each other.

As for the synopsis, it says it is perfect for people who are fans of Sarah J Maas and Leigh Bardugo. I can’t say much on Leigh Bardugo as I haven’t read any of her books but I wouldn’t say this book has the same quality as Sarah J Maas. With her first book of Throne of Glass she was rough around the edges but still holds potential and managed to prove she is a fantastic writer on the second book. Something that I can’t say about Mask Of Shadows unfortunately.

I did not enjoy this book at all. It seems to me that nothing ever happens. The ending is a little climatic but doesn’t cover up the lack of action so unfortunately I have to give it

1/5 stars

I am part of the Amazon Affiliate Program so if you use the link down below to buy something from Amazon I get a small commission that can support the blog. If you are still interested in this book I will leave the advert down below.

Happy Reading! 😀

One comment

Leave a Reply

