Review~ Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

Goodreads Synopsis

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission.

I will be honest I am not particularly thrilled with this book. A dark, depressing Oz with Dorothy as the evil princess does sound interesting but there were some parts that just doesn’t seem to work.

First off the good points. The world building is very detailed yet at the same time easy to follow. The author doesn’t shy why  from the horrors that certain characters having to deal with; hacking their wings off, forced into slavery, become experiments for the scientist or being punished by evil Dorothy herself, so the details and the concept is very interesting.

The biggest problem I want to talk about are the characters and the ones that bothers me the most are the once lovable characters that accompanied Dorothy in ‘The Wizard Of Oz’ and that is the Scarecrow, Tin Man and the Lion. It’s not them turning dark that bothers me, is that they don’t seem to have much characteristics as I expected which makes them stale. It would be kind of interesting if they at least have a hint of their own personalities and a conscious that can give them character and individuality, but they are just Dorothy’s servants making them disappointing and boring. Also the twist at the end that involves these three characters is in the blurb. I don’t know why it is on the blurb but if you are going to make an unpredictable twist to shock your readers make sure it is not on the back of the book.

The protagonist Amy Gumm I find to be annoying and flaky. One moment she is all up for killing Dorothy so the people of Oz can get their magic back that Dorothy stole, but then the next minute she hesitates and back out. Backing out once is understandable but to do it repeatedly is a bit of a nuisance. And if Oz is dark and disturbing the author had vividly detailed, the last thing Amy should be thinking about are boys like Nox and Pete. Again, unnecessary romance that gets in the way of the plot really puts me off. The rat is a nice touch but I would like the rat to do more, give it personality or have its own little adventure that would make it quite an iconic character, instead of having it sleeping in the draw most of the book. As for the new characters like Nox, Pete, Gerta, etc; I can’t seem to have any interest in them and anything that had happened to certain of these characters didn’t effect me as it should and their lack of character and how these characters makes the book a little bit of a drag did put me in a reading slump.

The writing style does make it easy to read and it has a nice flow that gives a good continuation between the chapters, but it didn’t cover up how much it had dragged on and on and I didn’t get much action as I had anticipated and the ending does have a predictable twist that was on the blurb and a cliffhanger with a confusing protagonist that makes unsatisfactory. I am not sure if I am going to continue the series, if I see the second book in the library it is a possibility out of curiosity but I am in no rush to continue.

Overall I give it 2.5/5 stars. 

I am part of the Amazon Affiliate program where you can buy books through my link and I get a small commission that can support this blog. If you are interested in this book you can get it from the advertisement down below and I hope you like it more than I did.

Happy Reading 😀

One comment

Leave a Reply

