Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

This week I am looking at ten things that will make me NOT want to read a book. So these are my ten book turn offs. This meme has been created by The Broke and The Bookish. Make sure to check out their blog and if you are thinking of doing the list yourself don’t forget to credit them.

1. Unnecessary Romance

Just to clarify, I will read romance if it is specifically from a romance novel, for example Sheer Madness: A Buffalo Steampunk Adventure is a Steampunk Romance book, so that wouldn’t bother me. However if there was a book that is a fantasy adventure, reading it, enjoying what’s going on, and then BOOM, somehow two characters fall in love. There are authors out their who are clever enough to entwine the romance into the plot, but their are others who will make two characters fall in love for no reason. Teen and YA books do fall into that catagory, particularly on the love triangle trend which I will be honest, it’s exhausting.

2. Medical Drama

I don’t like anything to do with hospitals, illnesses or anything along those lines. Sure there are some books that will occasionally have that sort of thing which I am good with but if it’s a book’s main focus through out then no. I will completely avoid it.

3. Horror

I don’t understand the fun of being scared. That is a thing with horror it would either be scary which I dislike, but if a horror book isn’t scary it would just be really boring which I really dislike so it is not worth my time.

4. Biographies Written by Reality Stars

I had read one or two biographies in the past and in some ways having biographies is a good thing because you can learn about that celebrity and understand the troubles they are going through. But books written by reality stars is different. Firstly, there is nothing original about these books. I am sorry if I am a bit judgemental against them but everytime I hear a book written by a reality star they always seem to be about the same thing. Fifty percent of the book would most likely be written in text speak, it will always be about drinking and partying and clothes, having some sort of ‘philosophical advice’ that probably has nothing to do with anything and the most dramatic part of the story would be what underwear they should wear just in case they have sex that night. I am probably a little harsh against them but it just really bugs me that these books are more popular than the other BETTER books just because they became famous for no reason.

5. Film Covers

I know it is a bit nit picky. I just want to be clear this has nothing to do with books themselves. There are lots of great books out their that currently have film covers but film covers themselves do bother me. I don’t see them as covers more like advertisements advertising a film that was based on that specific book. So that doesn’t make sense to me. Also question, If these covers are considered advertisements does that mean the people who does them get more money than the illustrators who work twice as hard on the original covers? If that is true then that is annoying as hell and wrong as well. I just don’t get it. However the only film covers I will accept are content that were originally films or television shows to begin with like Star Wars or Doctor Who.

6. Sports

I don’t have any interest in sports or books about people who play sports. I have nothing against them it’s just not my cup of tea.

7. Bad World Planning

There is nothing I like better than an author planning out an entire world to imagine yourself into, and having a map as well is an added bonus. But their are books with not very good world building. So when books can’t describe what the world is like then it is hard for me to imagine myself in it. Having vague details about the world they are trying to create does make me lose focus and really bored.

8. Books about Politics

The world has become very political and their are books out there that are about Presidents, Prime Ministers and other famous politicians. But politics are way over my head and the only thing I can think of about Politicians is that they are all liars. So I have quite vague, negative views about politics that caused me to not be interested in politics.

9. Romanticising Abuse

No. Just no. Somehow there are lots of books romanticising abuse which infuriates me. Fifty Shades of Grey is the prime example and it still boggles me how it managed to get published. There are lots of people out there working hard to fight against this kind of disgusting behaviour but somehow this kind of content is acceptable in books that lots of people read and getting fantasies about it and that is NOT ok. Seriously I would like that to stop!

10. Books that are suspiciously like other Books

I am all for authors who gets inspired by other authors but I also like original content that I have yet to explore. But I get suspicous with books that feels like other books. For example The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her own making is suspiciously like Alice Adventure of Wonderland, and I won’t deny it’s a fantastic classic, but we don’t need two wonderlands, and I would like original content from books, I don’t want the same plot and the same world over and over again. Give me something different.

That is it. You are welcome to do the list yourselves if you have book turn offs.

Happy Reading 😀

 

5 comments

    • I love the list. I totally agree with flat characters. There has to be development in them otherwise how can the book progress?? Great list!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Fabulous list. I forgot all about the medical dramas and romanticing of abuse. I have been noticing a lot of complicated political therories showing up in Middke Grades lately and it has been a turn off to me, and I can only imagine what a bore it is to MG age readers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

