Review~Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

Summary

Princess Elisa is a disappointment to her people. Although she bears the Godstone in her navel, a sign that she has been chosen for an act of heroism, they see her as lazy and useless.

On her sixteenth birthday, she is bartered off in royal marriage and shipped away to a kingdom in turmoil, where her much older and extremely beautiful husband refuses to acknowledge her as his wife. Devastated. Elisa decides to take charge of her fate and learn what it means to bear the Godstone.

As an invading army threatens to destroy her new home, and everyone at court manoeuvres to take advantage of the young princess, Elisa becomes convinced that, not only is her own life in danger, but the whole world needs saving. But how can a young girl who has never ridden on horseback, never played the game in politics, and never attained the love of a man save the world? Elisa can’t be sure, but she must try to uncover the Godstone’s secret history before the enemy steals the destiny nestled in her core.

In all honesty, I didn’t know what to expect from this book. I heard one feedback from a booktuber and it sounded really cool, and when I saw it at the library, I thought I should give it a chance.

This book has adventure, magic and romance combine together that kept me hooked along with cultural setting and amazing characters. The story flows really well, where it has continuationbetween each chapters and the writing style is a really good pace which makes it an easy read and enjoyable.

I find Princess Elisa to be relatable, yet through the process of the book, she slowly shows she is capable of being a warrior and a queen, and she proved everyone that she’s an amazing character. The reason why her character is relatable is because we understand some of the situations she had to go through. She was being judged by everyone she meets, including her own father and sister.which caused her to feel useless. But we also learn from her by not underestimating yourself and that you can do anything if you put your mind to it. (Which sounds really cheesy. I know).

The only problem I have with the book is the ending. I feel the action against the animagi ended to abruptly which left me a bit unsatisfied, but it is still a great ending to the book yet at the same time leaves to many possabilities on what could happen next. So I am definitely continuing with the series.

I am glad I found this book in the library and giving it a chance. On Goodreads I gave it 4/5 stars, but in actuality, I will give it 4.5/5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

