Review~Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas

Crowned by Evil

Bound by Evil

Divided by Love

Celaena Sardothien, royal assassin, is the King of Adarlan’s deadliest weapon. She must win her freedom through his enemies blood-but she cannot bear to kill for the crown. And every death Celaena fakes, every lie she tells, puts those she loves at risk.

Torn between her two protectors- a captain and a prince-and battling a dark force far greater than the king, Celaena must decide what she will fight for: her liberty, her heart or the fate of a kingdom.

Start with one thing by saying I didn’t review Throne of Glass as I read it before I started my book blog, but warning: as it may contain spoilers from Throne of Glass .

In my opinion, Crown of Midnight is so much better than Throne of Glass. While Throne of Glassgave us a basic idea of different characters and understanding the story and the setting to give us a picture of what is happening. The main problem I have with Throne of Glass is the love triangles because I find that to be quite unnecessary and Celaena herself. Everyone in the book is basically saying what an amazing assassin she is, but she doesn’t give me any proof that she showed any kind of combat skill until the very end. However, the series did develop with Crown of Midnight. It’s more comple, Celaena now has many layers to her character, lots of things happenedthat had got me hooked through out the book . The story is becoming moreinteresting and exciting as the series goes on. However, I do have a few problems with Crown of Midnight.

First off, it had stated really slow for my liking as there’s not much really happening at the beginning, it did take a couple of chapters until something eventually happened. Second is Chaol’s character, now in Throne of Glass he was my favourite but the tables had turned in Crown of Midnight. The things he said and done are questionable and it is hard to tellif he ison the king’s side or Cealaena’s. I suppose this kind of battle for Chaol is what the author is going for, but it is kind of annoying that it is very unclear who he is loyal to. I guess I will see in the next book.

Overall I did enjoy the book and will happily continue the series. I give it 4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

