Review~ Fables: Legends in Exile Vol 1 by Bill Willing

Who Killed Rose Red?

In Fabletown , where fairy tale legends live alongside regular New Yorkers, the question is all anyone can talk about. But only the Big Bad Wolf can actually solve the case- and, along with Rose’s sister Snow White, keep the Fabletown community from coming apart at the seams.

First off, I know I suppose to finish and review Men At Arms this weekend but my boyfriend had gave me this graphic novel Fables for my birthday and I just have to read it.

I have been wanting this since I played The Wolf Among Us which is a videogame based on this comic, and I can happily say none of them disappoint me.

I will start with the setting which is set in modern New York where anything can happen, especially for the Fables where the non human fairy tale characters have to use glamour spells to make themselves human and be in disguise from normal people also known as Mundies, and the reason why they moved to New York is because their world is being attack and destroyed by what looks like gigantic devils, so they have to work together to stay alive. Basically. So it is very interesting how the fairy tale characters do live in a harsh reality of New York because most of them had lost fame and fortune and have no clue how to live without them.

The characters are not what I expected. First off there is Bigby Wolf who is a detective to figure out how to solve a murder along with Snow White who is the Mayor’s Deputy who is obviously distressed about her sister’s murder.What I love about these two is that they are both absolute badasses in a different way. Bigby is trying to show that he is a Big Bad Wolf like he was in the past and with the help from Snow White, he is willing to be a good person. While he is observant, can fight and he is quick to temper, he can be socially awkward which makes it obvious that he is not good with communicating with people and to me, that shows his human side which makes me like him. Snow White is not like how Disney portrayed her. In fact to me she is ten times better. She is willing to protect her friends and family in anyway she can, she is more smarter, has common sense and can work alongside the Big Bad Wolf, she is also holding a sword like nothing where she has got immense confidence. Not only that but she is also more in touch with her emotions yet at the same time trying to be professional.

There are other characters like Jack from Jack and the Beanstalk, Beauty and the Beast, Prince Charming and Captain Bluebeard that are involved in this specific murder case but I will spoil the comic if I talked about them.

Another thing this comic is definitely not for kids, even though fairytales are originally for children, this one isn’t, and the videogame isn’t either. There are sex scenes, blood, violence and bad language, so to anyone who gets offended or cringe at blood this won’t be for you.

But to people who love fairytale re-tellings and looking for any graphic novels to read I highly recommend this comic, it will put you at the edge of your seat, and I also recommend the videogame as it is very story based, so do check both of them out.

I am rating this comic 5/5 and I will be continuing with the series in the future. 🙂

Bye ❤

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

